Read or Die: Web Reading Contest!

Read or Die Reading Contest

presented by LordSilent (readmod)

Since copying and pasting seems to be the funnest thing, here is LordSilent’s post concerning his fun contest.

Hey there kiddos!
It’s reading time again! Contest starts August 1st, 2010 and continues until the end of the month. Read on for contest rules and explanation.

What counts as a page?

Essentially, a page can be any of the following. Naturally, it must be entirely in Japanese****:

    1 page in a regular book or novel
    10 pages of a manga/comic/graphic novel
    1 newspaper article*
    1 blog post on the internet
    1 webpage*
    1 page in a magazine
    The lyrics of 1 song
    5 minutes of subtitles in your L2**
    2 pages of a script/play
    10 minutes of niconico comment reading***
    Etc
    Note: SRS reps do not count toward your reading count.

*[A newspaper article or webpage counts as 1 page if it has roughly the 2 paragraphs worth of text, give or take a sentence. If the page is unusually long, you may count it as more than a page.]
**[For example, if you’re watching a movie in your L2 that also has subtitles in that language, and you read all of the subs, 5 mins of doing that = 1 page.]
***[For reading comments on a NicoNico video. Obviously not counting “wwwwwwwww.”]
****[Other L2s are welcome to join.]

    Basically, if in doubt, think of it this way:
    1 page = 2-3 paragraphs
    1 paragraph = 5-8 short sentences OR 2-4 long sentences

Keeping track of the number of pages read

Keeping track of your number of read pages is your responsibility. Make sure to write down everything you’ve read or keep a tally using the guidelines above.
Your page count will be taken as a matter of merit, feel free to ask questions, but overall use your own judgement.

How do I report my weekly/monthly progress?

1) Posting a quick progress update here as a comment stating your number of pages.

2) Using twitter. We’ve got our own hash tag, too! Use it!: #tadoku

3) Make sure to include your name and lots of trash talking.

To sign up is easy, either post on the Readmod website in the signup post, or #tadoku the Twitter account, LordSilent. Either way, you’ll be on board. Also keep in mind that only new content counts. No reading the same things over and over again. Just keep track of your progress and that’s that. I’ve heard some people doing some crazy things out there, and I myself am setting my bare minimum at 100 pages myself. I know it doesn’t seem like a lot, but with two infants to watch, I’d rather be happy I surpass something low than not reach something high lol.

I’m going to be keeping tack of my progress here on my website for the most part here on the left hand side. So you can easily compare if you’re kicking my butt or not. On the plus side I do have a lot of children’s books I might be able to get away with reading to the infants (even though they don’t understand the concept of a book. >.>). Most of my reading will be done in the early morning and late evenings when I get home, and maybe I can do a spurt on the weekend if papa doesn’t work. Hmm… I’m super excited!

I also wonder how  many people will bs? I don’t think it matters since there really isn’t any prize other than the ability to maybe trash talk slowbies and show off amazing numbers! Its motivational in the sense you’re  not alone trying to do something fun and crazy. So be prepared for the 1st of August.

Do some more reading or you’ll do some more Dieing!

(btw for those who don’t know, there is a book/manga/anime series called Read or Die!)

Comments
One Response to “Read or Die: Web Reading Contest!”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Welcome to August! what a great month right? I know its going to be great for me, as I’m starting it off kicking towards my simple bare minimum goal of 100 pages. If you’re not in the know, check out this post. […]



Leave a Reply

  • Read More or Die! 2011

    _2011 End Results_
    Total read for Tadoku:
    __433.3 pages!__
    Placement: 115/188
    ___________________
    October 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 97/120
    End Tally: 59.2
    ___________________
    July 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 86/142
    End Tally: 195.6
    ___________________
    April 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 62/106
    End Tally: 154.5
    ___________________
    January 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 84/99
    End Tally: 24
    ___________________
    August 2010 Contest:
    Placement: 20/41
    End Tally: 160

  • Read Or Die 2013

    **************
    June:
    Goal: 600
    Total: 906.26
    blew my goal outta the water!

    **************
    March 2-Week:
    Goal: 125
    Total:302.75

    **************
    January:
    Goal: 250
    Total: 314

