Halfway(ish) Read More or Die Contest

Hiya everyone, I know I said my next post would be about mental play, but well, I LIED! The Horror! So anyhow, I really wanted to talk about what’s been happening as I’ve progressed through the contest and my days here of late.

For all those who aren’t up to speed on the RMOD contest, well shame on you, check it out and its not to late to start participating!

I started the month out strong. I was excited as it was my first time really hankering down for reading. Then I got sick. Man, what a looser I am! haha, Not! anyhow, sick and then my daughter caught it from me. Luckily papa was spared the horribleness of sick land. Afterward it seems like my reading hasn’t picked back up to that excitement, but that’s so not the case.

When I first started out there was a lot I didn’t really get. Hey, that happens when you’re doing something new. But as I was getting about 60 pages, I was noticing more patterns and things were starting to click with things I learned through listening immersion. This was exciting for me, those little pathways connecting and making so much sense, and funny enough, I’ve learned new connection phrases by reading alone, even though I’m not sure what they mean exactly, I’m getting the general gist.

I’ve also picked up a lot of new vocab, even while forcing myself to NOT look up much, I’m still picking up a lot. It seems this helped fuel more motivation. When I got sick, my brain went all fuzzy, and I kept reading. My speed overall has tremendously picked up. The same page takes way less time than a mere 100 or so pages ago, so I wasn’t to sad that I slowed down while sick.

After I got better, all that motivation and excitement rolled back into me almost immediately. It rolled into the form of intense studying! I am not reading as much technically in the sense of from a book, but I’m reading a lot from studying (though it doesn’t count!) and as I read more, and see more, and connect more, man, I’ll be darned if I don’t find myself rearing for more studying action. I take advantage of this like a fat police man takes advantage of doughnut sales!

OH HECK YEAH BALL OF MOTIVATION!

I’m not sure if this will happen to you guys (or is happening if you’re participating) however, if you maybe like me possessed a great love of reading to begin with, might. I’m reading right now a book intended for maybe middle/high schoolers, its not causing me trouble. I recommend you read something that will interest you over something that wont. I also recommend furigana if possible. It really helps keep speed when moving along, and keeps the ball rolling.

So yeah, here on this 18th day I find myself a highly motivated reader. I hope that you all have reached the same success and happiness from your reading. I know I’m only in 17th place at this moment, but its great to know that the purpose of this contest has already started working for me! My friends laughed at me when I told them that there was no prize one was aiming for (like a gift or whatnot), however I’ve already gotten a surprise considering the large motivational bundle of joy I’ve received!

Keep up the reading and Good luck fellow and future RMOD participants!

Comments
One Response to “Halfway(ish) Read More or Die Contest”
  1. e_dub_kendo says:

    Definitely. I think for me, the biggest benefit is just getting over that intimidation that seeing a big block of Japanese text used to do to me. Sure, I was fine if its broken down in little chunks in an SRS or textbook, but give me a big scary page and my eyes would glaze over. Hell, even a wordy tweet from one of the 日本人 I follow would often have me skipping it, rather than even turn on Rikaikun and try to puzzle it out.Now that’s no longer the case. While I still have a hard time reading if there is lots of kanji without furigana (mostly because I dont know many readings yet and so its a pain to look them up by radical, etc), I’m actually ENJOYING reading Japanese text, and seeing how rich their literature can be. Now when I see Japanese text, whether its on a sign in the background on an anime, or in a tweet from my Japanese friends, I’m eager to give puzzling it out a try instead of simply passing over it, thinking “One day, when I’m good enough, I’ll read that.” I may not be good enough yet, but I read it anyway. Besides, for someone like me who has always learned best through reading over being told or participating, how the hell am I gonna learn anything if I don’t read now?

Leave a Reply

  • Read More or Die! 2011

    _2011 End Results_
    Total read for Tadoku:
    __433.3 pages!__
    Placement: 115/188
    ___________________
    October 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 97/120
    End Tally: 59.2
    ___________________
    July 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 86/142
    End Tally: 195.6
    ___________________
    April 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 62/106
    End Tally: 154.5
    ___________________
    January 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 84/99
    End Tally: 24
    ___________________
    August 2010 Contest:
    Placement: 20/41
    End Tally: 160

  • Read Or Die 2013

    **************
    June:
    Goal: 600
    Total: 906.26
    blew my goal outta the water!

    **************
    March 2-Week:
    Goal: 125
    Total:302.75

    **************
    January:
    Goal: 250
    Total: 314

