Stylin’ Baby

Yeah okay, so a quick update post. I’ve been kicking it like a steam engine, well, all in moderation that is, since I’ve been feeling better about times past. Yesterday my day was much improved and made into happy candy land when I received my 4th gen Ipod Touch. Now I’m not one to go into fads, I wasn’t a fan of the plain ipod back in the day, but truly ipod Touch’s are innovative and I don’t really see anything like it (in non phone form) besides maybe a mini laptop. I really wanted something that I could take on the move, flash cards on wheels means a lot to me, and writing things out hurt.

So needless to say one of the first apps I got was the Anki mobile. It was a little pricey, but considering they’ve been supplying me support and coolness for their desktop version free for a good long time now, I’m not put out at all. At first opening I was a little happy but sad, I have to figure out how to get my decks there. I forgot my anki online id and stuff, so… 😀 I’ll write up some reviews for Japanese learning apps, though I’m not going to set out a lot of g for this stuff, only ones I really want to try out.

I didn’t ask a lot of the questions I had at the apple store, mostly because I got the good feeling they wouldn’t even know. The one who supposedly knew a lot about Japanese, didn’t really at all…so, sadness, but either way, I’ll figure out how to get more native content soon enough. As it stands itunes did kinda shock me at the amount of Japanese media they had. Some of the big name artists were there in full, from old to new cds. I haven’t checked some of my obscure favorites yet though, so we’ll see.

Another big problem right away was my hubby trying to steal it away from me when I am taking care of the baby!

If anyone has any suggestions for shows, apps, books, music available specifically for the ipod touch, let me know in the comments box.

Comments
8 Responses to “Stylin’ Baby”
  1. Lan'dorien says:

    Good to hear you’re doing better.

    And yes it seems everyone gets sucked into the iOS vortex sooner or later 😛

    As far as getting reading material on it it’s hard to do better than SkyBook. It’s a free app, too. It’s an e-reader made specifically to connect to the Aozora Bunko library.

    For reference apps I use ShinKanji and Kotoba!, both free.

    I got a few different learning apps but I never use them. Anki and the references are all I need.

    • mikotoneko says:

      I took at look at SkyBook, but the version that i saw cost some money, just want to be sure its what I’m looking for before handing out the doe.

      I found a lite version of the Shinkanji and got pretty frustrated that it messed up. I’m not sure what happened but after a while I finally got it to remove itself from my ipod. There is a paid version but a lot of people are complaining about the apps malfunctions, maybe that’s what i also experienced. I’m not really sure.

      😀

      • Lan'dorien says:

        My mistake, I just looked again and SkyBook is in fact $3.99 – I must’ve forgotten that I paid for it.

        The only trouble I’ve ever had with ShinKanji is that sometimes it takes a long time before the search function works. Not all that often, and once it loads it’s fine.

  2. Daniel says:

    It seems pricey, but when you think about how much you use it each and every day, and how vital/useful it is, it seems cheap. And the author is super awesome with answering questions, so it’s very worth it. Have you checked out any podcasts on the Japanese store? It’s the topic of my next article! (Which is done, I just need to make pics)

    • mikotoneko says:

      Yup! That’s exactly why I don’t mind the price! As for the podcasts, not just yet. The free one’s I’ve heard before were pretty basic, hi how are you stuff, so i’m not sure I want to hear that kind of thing, but I’ll check out the store to see if they have any other type of things, since I’m a newb.

  3. Daniel says:

    I was thinking more the news and discussion podcasts made for native speakers rather than the ones to learn Japanese. TokyoFM itself has a lot of different programs on the Japanese store~

    • mikotoneko says:

      I’ve been looking around for this stuff for about two weeks now, any particulars to make my searching a heck of a lot easier? I’m kinda annoyed that there isn’t an advanced way to search for things. Like there are lots of apps that have japanese material in it, but you can’t (at least that i see so far) find it by the search unless you know specifically the title of the app. 😦

  4. Daniel says:

    You’re right it’s the one drawback, browsing is usually more effective than searching… I normally just check out the top podcasts, but once you find a program you like, if you look up in the show description you can click to browse that publisher’s entire selection. It’d be cool to know in advance what games and so on are available in Japanese too though…

Leave a Reply

  • Read More or Die! 2011

    _2011 End Results_
    Total read for Tadoku:
    __433.3 pages!__
    Placement: 115/188
    ___________________
    October 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 97/120
    End Tally: 59.2
    ___________________
    July 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 86/142
    End Tally: 195.6
    ___________________
    April 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 62/106
    End Tally: 154.5
    ___________________
    January 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 84/99
    End Tally: 24
    ___________________
    August 2010 Contest:
    Placement: 20/41
    End Tally: 160

  • Read Or Die 2013

    **************
    June:
    Goal: 600
    Total: 906.26
    blew my goal outta the water!

    **************
    March 2-Week:
    Goal: 125
    Total:302.75

    **************
    January:
    Goal: 250
    Total: 314

