So you wanna read, eh?

So you wanna read, eh?

Intensive/Extensive Reading Materials Introduction

I’ve decided to start off a new mini project here on the blog about different reading materials. Regardless of whether you are an intensive, extensive, or even both type of reader, these links, reviews, and so on will help you.

So what’s the project called and about?

“So you wanna read eh?” is the name of the project, it will generally be followed by a category. In this example, ‘Children’s Books’ is the category of books that will be discussed. Edition numbers are merely there to help you see what order I’m posting them in, in case you want to come back later once the project is starting on, or if you’re just now seeing it.

So common page titles will be something like this: So you wanna read, eh? Children’s Books Edition I

Each edition will only cover 10 books, that way it will be short and to the point. I’ll try and cover different sources as well as the different books, that way if you’re feeling frisky you can search out more books on your own.

Within all my mini “so you wanna read, eh” posts, you will see the following information about every book

  • title
  • author
  • isbn (if applicable)
  • website to view or purchase
  • if there is audio or not
  • summary
  • reading level assigned by grammar, kanji, furigana with Kanji, hiragana, katakana, and so on. 1-10 (10 being the most difficult to read).
  • my rating of the enjoyment of the book (1-5 stars, 5 being the best

These books will more than likely start mostly online, since that is the medium in which I have the most access to. I will also be starting with children’s books and working my way up. There is no book that I wont consider, so manga will be involved here as well as non-fiction books. If you have links for book sites or so on, please feel free to send them over, and I’ll look them through and throw a review up. All books that come from book websites will have links in my (mikoto’s) linkage page.

I can’t think of anything else that is really pertinent except maybe that I did add the categories to the categories listing on the right of the page, for faster getting to.

I hope that you enjoy the series, and while I’m not sure how many will get posted overall or how often, I plan to at the very least add 1 a month! So, I look forward to getting you some good reviews!

Leave a Reply

  • Read More or Die! 2011

    _2011 End Results_
    Total read for Tadoku:
    __433.3 pages!__
    Placement: 115/188
    ___________________
    October 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 97/120
    End Tally: 59.2
    ___________________
    July 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 86/142
    End Tally: 195.6
    ___________________
    April 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 62/106
    End Tally: 154.5
    ___________________
    January 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 84/99
    End Tally: 24
    ___________________
    August 2010 Contest:
    Placement: 20/41
    End Tally: 160

  • Read Or Die 2013

    **************
    June:
    Goal: 600
    Total: 906.26
    blew my goal outta the water!

    **************
    March 2-Week:
    Goal: 125
    Total:302.75

    **************
    January:
    Goal: 250
    Total: 314

