2012 3rd Quarter Resolutions

Mikoto

Recap of Last goals:

  1. review 10 kanji a day
  2. blog weekly and do tadoku
  3. structure days better
  4. make some posters

As for how it went: 

1) I was doing this really really well until the day of great sorrow. Yes, that silly day in which my kanji deck was deleted with the absolute stupidity of stupid queens in stupid land wearing the royal hat of …well….stupid. And what really made me stupid wasn’t that it happened acidently (because junk happens) but that I let it get me down, and it totally halted all progress with kanji as I tried to figure out what to do. How to get going again. Thinking about alllllllllllllll that kanji that I had to add back and re-review was just….heartbreaking and overwhelming.

2) Blog has been updating nicely, keeping on track and seeing visitors has been awesome. Thank everyone who  reads! Tadoku, not as much as I’d like, but I found a way to get into it just recently even more with visual fun!

3)lastly in utter fail land, was structure days better. I like an over zealous idiot (seems i’ve been taking dips in the stupid pool this summer) decided that I should take 5 classes! Why not! well, all that ended up doing was making me drop one, and then figure out how to shove the 4 in my schedule while keeping my daughter happy, keeping some japanese going and learning, and not being completely exhausted out and sad. Well, I think its been a failure…At least, in the original sense that I had hoped to get down. Lately everythign has been screwy as I’ve been toilet training my daughter. Its kinda hard to get into anything knowing you have to stop in 20 mins to take a 10 poddy break. hahaha.

For those who are parents, this is my advice for poddy time. Make some activities up for the bathroom. Heck, when poddy training, you’re going to be in there a long long long time throughout the day. So having fun posters and flash cards and what not set up in the bathroom makes this time period not so boring, and not so *insert native language*.

4) Make some posters: I’m proud to at least say I did this much! haha, well if you could a giant kanji poster complete with glittery paint and what not, celebrating every new 100 kanji I reach. Its a lot of fun and sorta motivational to do it that way. I’d like to make some body part posters and food ones, but I’ve been lacking in the fundage department since I didn’t get any school summer aid.

Resolutions:

  1. Get My kanji deck fixed
  2. posters for poddy time
  3. work hard on my reading project
  4. work hard on my learning project
  5. start up my savings for trip to Japan!

Panda

Recap on goals:

  1. pick up back where I left off.
  2. structure days
  3. include more immersion and shadowing
  4. mini goal of more game playing

How I did:

  1. I did finish up my kana and can read very slowly with some mistakes. I did not however get back into a routine with my Kanji.
  2. I do structure my days with an app on my phone called Life Planner iAd edition (free). It places your day into a pie chart so you can see how much time visually you’re spending on things. I don’t get up at 4, but I do follow my schedule once I do watch up.
  3. Besides the music that I listen to is Japanese when I work out, I don’t really immerse or shadow.
  4. I have played reading games with friends but haven’t played any kanji games. I do play games on RS with strangers.

3rd Quarter resolutions

  1. Include 15 minutes of immersion per day, 15 minutes of shadowing, and review kanji for however long it takes me.
  2. Spiritually connect. I’m studying  Nichiren Daishonin Buddhism and there is a local center of SGI. I want to take advantage of it. I want to be able to chant properly (in Japanese).
  3. Include 3-30 minute sessions of RS a week, monthly Studio sessions.
Leave a Reply

  • Read More or Die! 2011

    _2011 End Results_
    Total read for Tadoku:
    __433.3 pages!__
    Placement: 115/188
    ___________________
    October 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 97/120
    End Tally: 59.2
    ___________________
    July 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 86/142
    End Tally: 195.6
    ___________________
    April 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 62/106
    End Tally: 154.5
    ___________________
    January 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 84/99
    End Tally: 24
    ___________________
    August 2010 Contest:
    Placement: 20/41
    End Tally: 160

  • Read Or Die 2013

    **************
    June:
    Goal: 600
    Total: 906.26
    blew my goal outta the water!

    **************
    March 2-Week:
    Goal: 125
    Total:302.75

    **************
    January:
    Goal: 250
    Total: 314

