Using Evernote for your Japanese studies

Evernote is, as the name suggests, a note creation and management system. It’s extremely multi-platform–everything from desktop apps for Windows, Mac, to a web-based version and even an app for all major mobile devices. You can write text, take photos, or even record audio that syncs seamlessly across all devices you may use, including your own secure web account. Of course, you’re here for Japanese learning tips, so let’s get right to it! There are a few ways that I use this application to support my studies, such as:
Sentence collection – This is actually one of the original reasons I started using Evernote. I copy and paste sentences from various sources such as Read The Kanji or Yahoo! Dictionary to review later and run through Learning With Texts. This type of use is where the web version *really* comes in handy, because I can simply have Everynote on the next browser tab and easily go back and forth.
My Map To Japanese – Your map is a living document, always changing and being updated. Having access to these notes on any device means that I can keep myself on track, anytime.
Blog Notes – It should come as no surprise that I frequently use Evernote to jot down ideas for future posts, or notes for the next one coming up. In fact I created the draft copy of this post right in Evernote.
Ideas for actions – You may have seen my previous post where I mentioned I had a checklist of items to add more Japanese to my environment. Well you never know when an idea will strike you, so being able to quickly and easily write down a thought makes sure no ideas get missed.
Other personal uses – Of course all of these uses can apply to other things in your personal life. Sometimes when I’m studying, if something non-Japanese related comes up, I write it down in Evernote, mentally setting it aside so that I can keep focusing on my studies for the time being. Timeboxing, baby!
This is the most convenient note application I’ve ever used, if for no other reason than the sheer speed that you can access your information, and the worry-free syncing. No logging in every time and clicking upon clicking. Just put your cursor in the box and off you go, able to edit your notes with ease. Overall, it’s just a great way to organize your thoughts and information, and I think you’ll find it to be a valuable addition to your Japanese learning lifestyle.
Media Recommendation – Roger Swan’s YouTube Channel
Roger Swan is sadly no longer with us, but he has left us all the gift of sharing his adventures in Japan. He presents us a very real, down to earth and fun view of the sort of interesting things one can do in the land we all dream of. I know these videos have been a great inspiration to me, so I hope you can enjoy them as well.
Leave a Reply

  • Read More or Die! 2011

    _2011 End Results_
    Total read for Tadoku:
    __433.3 pages!__
    Placement: 115/188
    ___________________
    October 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 97/120
    End Tally: 59.2
    ___________________
    July 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 86/142
    End Tally: 195.6
    ___________________
    April 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 62/106
    End Tally: 154.5
    ___________________
    January 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 84/99
    End Tally: 24
    ___________________
    August 2010 Contest:
    Placement: 20/41
    End Tally: 160

  • Read Or Die 2013

    **************
    June:
    Goal: 600
    Total: 906.26
    blew my goal outta the water!

    **************
    March 2-Week:
    Goal: 125
    Total:302.75

    **************
    January:
    Goal: 250
    Total: 314

