The End of an Era—Delenir’s 3 month update

Seeing Victory Road makes me want to be the very best, like no one ever was.

With this post, my 3 month journey comes to an end. It’s really quite amazing how much transformation and progress can take place in just 90 days! But first, here are some of my highlights from November!

  • Moved away from Read The Kanji temporarily. This isn’t because it’s not working, but rather for a change of pace. What I switched to was this…
  • Using Japanese video game walkthroughs 攻略(こうりゃく)for games I’m currently playing. I would learn the vocabulary for where I’m at in the game using Learning With Texts, and then play that section. This makes playing the game much more enjoyable, and it’s also a huge confidence boost!
  • I also purchased some bilingual Japanese storybooks which are very useful, namely Read Real Japanese Fiction, and A Treasury of Japanese Folk Tales. I even use them too! 🙂
  • I’ve been getting back into reading manga, especially The Legend of Zelda thanks to my lovely wife.
  • I’ve recently gained access to iOS devices, which have really amazing Japanese support. Most apps and many games in the North American markets are available in Japanese, as well as the entire device interface. On that note…
  • Games are very much up to personal taste, but some of the learning apps I’ve used the most on iOS are Anki (of course), JLPT Study, Qpen.net’s Japanese apps, and Kanji OK.
  • Last but not least, I’ve started to exercise in front of the TV with shows that feature native Japanese subtitles. This is a habit I’m still trying to develop, but it certainly makes it more interesting!

When I first started this 3 month project, I had 3 specific goals presented to the readers. Here they are again, with the results:

  • Reached a total of 1000+ Anki cards. Currently, I have 1300 cards in my deck. This is even after a lot of weeding out cards that I didn’t like the looks of!
  • Spent 30-90 minutes of Japanese reading every day. This is difficult to keep track of since reading isn’t usually done in timed sessions for me, but I certainly have increased the amount of reading time I get in. I play games in Japanese on various devices and consoles, review LWT texts on my Kindle, read raw manga and bilingual books, and all of this is in addition to study with Anki and other apps. Definitely a success in this department!
  • Done everything on my immersion environment checklist. While some were more useful than others, I have gone well above and beyond the initial items I had laid out for myself. The best part was realizing how much my environment had already transformed into being simply a part of my lifestyle.

Overall, I think I’ve come a long way. The greatest success in all of this has been going from just thinking of how to go about things, to actually getting into action and doing Japanese every day. I feel like I’m finally scaling that wall of the intermediate level, well on my way to future success!

I’ll be taking a break over the December holidays, but hope to return full force (and then some) in January! In the meantime, you can follow my Twitter feed or even get ahold of me on Facebook! Good luck to everyone, and see you next year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Read More or Die! 2011

    _2011 End Results_
    Total read for Tadoku:
    __433.3 pages!__
    Placement: 115/188
    ___________________
    October 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 97/120
    End Tally: 59.2
    ___________________
    July 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 86/142
    End Tally: 195.6
    ___________________
    April 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 62/106
    End Tally: 154.5
    ___________________
    January 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 84/99
    End Tally: 24
    ___________________
    August 2010 Contest:
    Placement: 20/41
    End Tally: 160

  • Read Or Die 2013

    **************
    June:
    Goal: 600
    Total: 906.26
    blew my goal outta the water!

    **************
    March 2-Week:
    Goal: 125
    Total:302.75

    **************
    January:
    Goal: 250
    Total: 314

