Letting Go with Kanji

Throughout life, especially in academics we are told that we must know everything in such a manner that we should be able to immediately answer. If we do not come up with the answer instantaneously we’re somehow shammed into thinking that we are less intelligent than we thought we were.

When I approach learning things, I do not try to have instant short term memory. Quite the opposite. I work on vague. This approach is not for everyone.

Take for instance, when it comes to kanji. I am not a stickler on specific words. Like ä¿¡ (Faith – Heisig) – It can just as easily be truth, trust, fidelity, and be in vocabulary words even like authentic. So a lot of people when using the Heisig method want the word Faith specifically to pop up in their head. If that works for you, stick with it. But for me, I go hazy.

I see the elements, Person, Words, and I begin to think of that person and his words and people and do i trust them, are they using those words to tell the truth, they aren’t the devil, so I’d hope so. I can sometimes even just think of honest people speaking honest words, however it comes out in my head, if it is relevant to the kanji, it means more to me than the English descriptive word.

In the end, kanji does not equal one singular English word or concept.

When you let go of the singular word concept, it opens the door to a higher understanding of its appearance in vocabulary words. It is easier to learn vocabulary words with ease because there is no restriction on the kanji associated with them.

There is a catch. Some words are misleading in Heisig, they carry double meanings in English and the stories back up the wrong concepts. This isn’t significant to dismiss Heisig.

Take the kanji å°½ (Exhaust) – If you’re not careful you could associate the meaning exhaust from a pipe, but its actual meanings are more like deplete and run out of. Its usage in vocabulary can get a little more muddled to. So building up this complete connection to the concept of an exhaust pipe, could lead to more difficulty.

In the end, what I recommend is letting go of perfection and aim for hazy. Research your kanji that you’re adding no matter what source you’re learning it from, to get a broader more clear idea of how the kanji is used and what it means, then fit your stories and concepts around that.

Stop shaming and beating yourself up, and embrace a relaxed feeling and you’re far more likely to remember things and have fun! Good Luck!

Comments
5 Responses to “Letting Go with Kanji”
  1. Daniru says:

    This might be blasphemy for some, but I’ve completely dropped my RTK anki reviews in favour of my current method I’m using to bolster my vocabulary. So now I’m seeing the kanji in compounds rather than isolated characters and then using extensive reading and immersion to hopefully expose myself to them and review them.

    It’s nice when you recognise singular kanji popping up in different compounds with the same connotations (and often, reading) and feeling like you really have a hold of that kanji character.

    • mikotoneko says:

      I feel that is often RTK’s biggest downfall is its separation from vocabulary. People often misunderstand kanji’s usage in Japanese because of it. However I think things like Wanikani fix that (which i’ll be reviewing soon).

      I personally feel that if you have already invested in it to the end, no use ditching your already hard earned efforts and rather modify the cards as they come up again, which i’ll do a post on later.

      As always, love your comments!

  2. Delenir says:

    This is one of the reasons I eventually stopped being hung up on kanji and moved on. Don’t get me wrong, something like Heisig is prractically vital to mastering Japanese, but don’t worry, be hazy 🙂

  3. unger says:

    I’m presently going through RTK1, and am building an anki deck bit-by-bit. I’ve found it very helpful both for retention and understanding to run each kanji through jisho.org and kanjidamage.com, taking notes on the different meanings. Very (very) rarely, I’ll replace Heisig’s word with something more appropriate; the rest of the time, I come away with a good idea about, first, what Heisig meant by his keyword; second, what basic concept the character is generally supposed to convey; third, what metaphorical expansions on that concept the character can convey; and occasionally fourth, what bizarre alternate uses it has. I put the notes into a field on the answer side, and while I don’t study them carefully, I do notice them, and they do sink in over time.

Leave a Reply

  • Read More or Die! 2011

    _2011 End Results_
    Total read for Tadoku:
    __433.3 pages!__
    Placement: 115/188
    ___________________
    October 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 97/120
    End Tally: 59.2
    ___________________
    July 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 86/142
    End Tally: 195.6
    ___________________
    April 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 62/106
    End Tally: 154.5
    ___________________
    January 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 84/99
    End Tally: 24
    ___________________
    August 2010 Contest:
    Placement: 20/41
    End Tally: 160

  • Read Or Die 2013

    **************
    June:
    Goal: 600
    Total: 906.26
    blew my goal outta the water!

    **************
    March 2-Week:
    Goal: 125
    Total:302.75

    **************
    January:
    Goal: 250
    Total: 314

