What this round of Tadoku brought me

When I began listening to Japanese, there came this magical moment when Japanese no longer was foreign. To describe it in another way, is to say that it was just as ordinary as English and at times had to consciously think about what language I was listening to. Both English and Japanese began to melt into a pot of such familiarity, the otherness of Japanese sounds abandoned me.

In another post I’m going to talk about this more so (evolution of learning through listening immersion).

However, I found out today that all this past month (plus times before of course) has finally brought a magical moment to me in reading. Though I sucked at updating my status on Twitter, I actually packed a really high number of pages read. I was pretty happy, but just a mere 30 minutes before writing this post, that magical moment happened again.

Japanese no longer feels foreign. I see Japanese, and it looks just as natural to me to look at as English. I’m not sure how fast this may happen to others. Sure I could recognize Japanese for a long time, obviously, but to the point where I’m thinking about it separately from my native language had completely ended.

It happened when I was scanning a newly acquired manga to see if I’d even want to read it. I was shocked when I almost adverted my eyes because I thought I was reading English. It was Japanese. My mind just automatically switched into, idk, Japanese MODE, so quick, effortlessly, assassinating English with a shiny zinging blade that I actually was startled.

Many of you know that I’ve been reading out loud children’s books for some time, and reading magazines for mothers/housewives, web browsing, and so on, but never before had this really occurred  I had to always do this mid translation, even if it was shady.

Everything I read before had mind subtitles in the back of my head. Poof!

Keep reading my friends, if you haven’t hit this road, the only way to pass it is through diligent reading. Surely as it happened in listening for me, it happened in reading. Tadoku for ears and eyes has completely changed my study, more so than any program, study method, or the like. Sure those things helped lift and support it, but  never did produce the same thing.

I’m sure that Japanese MODE for my eyes isn’t steady, like it is for my ears now, but I’m sure that the more I do it, the more those moments will be longer and English brain titles will be washed away with the tide and hopefully brick boot-ed so the po-po doesn’t know I murdered it.

 

anyhow, thank you for listening to my rambles!

Hope to actually update properly next tadoku round! (ps: i beat my goal 😀 )

Comments
6 Responses to “What this round of Tadoku brought me”
  1. suti says:

    *whispers* gomen but what’s tadoku?

    • mikotoneko says:

      *Motherlode of GASPS* To sum it up, Tadoku is an immersion method with reading, basically no dictionary look ups, trying to stay within 80% understanding of the full text, and learning new words through context.

      I join the Tadoku contest Read More or Die (remod) held by Lan’dorien (cool bro) and talks about it on his website: http://readmod.wordpress.com/about/

      Lan’dorien even made it more simple with a twitter page updater thing, they usually are a month long a few times a year. If you’re competitive its a good thing to join into.

      My tips:
      https://mikotoneko.wordpress.com/category/conests-and-games/

      I urge you to research extensive reading, as it is epic in learning. I’ll be covering it in a future post as well again.

      • suti says:

        Ah *in loud voice* ha ha who wouldn’t know what tadoku is. Delenir such a scaredy cat.

        Delenir, were you that afraid in asking that question

        *slowly skips away* ^__^

    • Delenir says:

      Literally it’s extensive reading. 多読(たどく), 多(much) 読(reading). I find it to be a good way to test your skills after much studying!

  2. Delenir says:

    An inspiring post! Now it’s time to go mono! 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] What this round of Tadoku brought me by Mikotokoneko […]



Leave a Reply

  • Read More or Die! 2011

    _2011 End Results_
    Total read for Tadoku:
    __433.3 pages!__
    Placement: 115/188
    ___________________
    October 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 97/120
    End Tally: 59.2
    ___________________
    July 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 86/142
    End Tally: 195.6
    ___________________
    April 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 62/106
    End Tally: 154.5
    ___________________
    January 2011 Contest:
    Placement: 84/99
    End Tally: 24
    ___________________
    August 2010 Contest:
    Placement: 20/41
    End Tally: 160

  • Read Or Die 2013

    **************
    June:
    Goal: 600
    Total: 906.26
    blew my goal outta the water!

    **************
    March 2-Week:
    Goal: 125
    Total:302.75

    **************
    January:
    Goal: 250
    Total: 314

